Call for a Free Consultation!

516.858.1266

We are available 24 hours a day.

Penalties for Alcohol or Drug-Related Offenses in New York

Driving under the influence (DUI) and driving while intoxicated (DWI) are common offenses in New York and across the country. If you've been charged with an alcohol or drug-related driving offense, it's imperative to contact a DWI/DUI attorney in Mineola as soon as possible. Your attorney can explain the specific penalties you could be facing for your particular offense. If you've already had a conviction for a drug or alcohol-related offense, the penalties will be more severe if you're convicted again.

Monetary Penalties Long Island DUI Lawyer
A first time arrest for DWI in NY carries fines that can reach $1,000. If you've been charged with aggravated driving while intoxicated (A-DWI), you're facing fines of $1,000 to $2,500. Under NY DWI law, this charge is used when a person's blood alcohol content (BAC) is .18% or higher. If you're being charged with your second DWI or A-DWI within 10 years, you're facing a higher penalty of $1,000 to $5,000. If you're charged with driving while impaired by a single drug (other than alcohol), you're facing fines of $500 to $1,000. These fines increase with multiple convictions, and the maximum penalty is $10,000. However, these are only the court-imposed penalties. If convicted, you're also facing higher vehicle insurance premiums, public transportation costs, license reinstatement fees, and similar costs.

Jail Time
Your Mineola DWI lawyer can inform you of the possible jail sentence you may receive if convicted. For example, your first DWI or A-DWI offense carries a possible jail term of up to one year. If convicted of your second DWI or A-DWI offense within 10 years, you're facing a possible jail term of four years. That period of time can increase to seven years if you're facing your third conviction. After your release, you may find it more difficult to obtain employment.

Driver's License Actions
Monetary penalties and jail time aren't the only consequences you're facing if convicted. Talk to your lawyer about potential penalties such as license suspension or revocation. For example, if convicted of your first A-DWI offense, you're facing a revocation of at least one year. Your second A-DWI conviction within 10 years carries a license revocation of at least 18 months. These penalties can increase if you're under the age of 21.