Skip to Content
chevron-left chevron-right chevron-up chevron-right chevron-left arrow-back star phone quote checkbox-checked search wrench info shield play connection mobile coin-dollar spoon-knife ticket pushpin location gift fire feed bubbles home heart calendar price-tag credit-card clock envelop facebook instagram twitter youtube pinterest yelp google reddit linkedin envelope bbb pinterest homeadvisor angies

In Mineola, a DWI conviction can result in harsh penalties, such as fines, jail time, and the suspension or revocation of your driver’s license. New York criminal law recognizes a range of offenses related to drunk driving and drugged driving. As your DWI lawyer near Mineola can explain to you, you can be charged with DWI for having a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 percent or higher. If your BAC is 0.18 percent or higher, you’ll be charged with aggravated DWI. Additionally, a New York police officer can charge you with driving while ability impaired by alcohol (DWAI/Alcohol) if your BAC is over .05, but less than .07 percent.


If convicted of DWI as a first-time offender, you might be sentenced to up to one year behind bars. This period of incarceration can be lengthened to up to four years if convicted of your second DWI offense within 10 years. The same holds true for a conviction of aggravated DWI. A third conviction of aggravated DWI within 10 years is prosecuted as a class D felony and can result in up to seven years behind bars. A New York judge might sentence you to up to 15 days behind bars if convicted of your first DWAI/Alcohol offense.


Individuals convicted of DWI in Mineola can anticipate paying significant fines. In addition to legal expenses and increased auto insurance premiums, you could pay a mandatory fine of $500 to $1,000 for your first DWI conviction. If convicted of aggravated DWI, you might pay between $1,000 and $2,500. A second aggravated DWI conviction involves fines of $1,000 to $5,000, while a third aggravated DWI conviction can lead to a fine of up to $10,000. Mineola criminal law has an implied consent clause, which subjects drivers to automatic penalties upon the refusal of a Breathalyzer test. This includes fines, such as a $500 civil penalty.

Driver’s License Revocation

New York lawmakers are dedicated to keeping convicted drunk drivers off the road for as long as possible. After your first DWI conviction, you’ll lose your driver’s license for at least six months. That period of time increases to at least one year for an aggravated DWI conviction. For refusal of a chemical test, you can expect to lose your license for at least one year.

Liquor Shot